Whatchya reading?

I posted the list from The Millions a couple of weeks? months? ago, and we had a lively discussion in the comments about what, in fact, the best books of the decade were.

Matt Bucher, over at one of his 40,000 blogs and social media sites, has posted his own list to rival The Millions’.

And he’s starting an Infinite Summer-like reading of Roberto Bolano’s 2666. Dan Summers says he’ll read along if I will.

So I’m toe-deep in 2666 and knee-deep in Don Quixote. What are you reading?

7 thoughts on “Whatchya reading?

  1. You and Dan Summers rock the universe. There’s no way I’m tackling that thing. I do believe I’m using it as a doorstop at the moment.

    I’m re-reading Oscar Wao…I read it months ago and enjoyed it but didn’t find it Earth-shattering. I read a review this past week by a writer who just about pissed himself praising the thing, so I’m going back, wondering if I’ve missed something.

    And now that I’m admitting this, I’m sort of ashamed? Why can’t I trust my own opinion?

    This is way too deep to think about before 7 am.

  2. For work? You don’t want to know. Heck, I don’t want to know!

    For fun: I’m reading Murder in the New Age by the M@MLA author. Not as gripping but humorous enough to keep my interest.

    I’m go for DQ chat. Any time. I…nope, I can’t say that in the blogosphere. I’ll tell you elsewhere.

  3. How are you reading TWO books at once? And they’re not even fluff. I don’t know how you’re doing it.
    I’m attempting to read a book, but it’s an attempt as for some reason the only time I have is when I lock the bathroom door for five minutes with pounding and yelling and questioning.

  4. Other than rediscovering some of the best Dr. Seuss and Shel Silverstein (really!), I’m reading Marquis de Sade’s Philosophy in the Bedroom and trying to get my hands on a copy of Saramago’s Blindness.

Comments are closed.